How to Build Quadriceps Muscles in the Leg

muscles leg

When you think of the legs, you might automatically picture the quadriceps group of muscles. But did you know that it is actually a group of four individual muscles? These muscles are called quadriceps because they are four-headed. But what do they actually do? Here’s a brief look at each one. And then, read on to find out how to build them. Here are some tips for doing so. Hopefully, you’ll understand how to strengthen these muscles!

biceps femoris

The biceps femoris is a large muscle in the leg that provides movement and stability to the knee and hip joints. The muscle is split into two heads, the long and short. The long head originates at the pelvic ischial tuberosity and inserts into the head of the fibula. The short head originates at the lateral supracondylar line of the femur and passes inferiorly to join the long head.


You can find a great way to massage Gracilis muscles in the leg by lying on a low stool or on a ball. Place your left leg on top of the pile, then swing it over. Use a foot support to keep it steady, and rotate the leg and pelvis in the process. Then, gently pull the other leg back to align with the left leg. Once you have mastered the basic motion, you can move on to more advanced Gracilis muscle massage.


The semimembranosus muscle is a part of the lower limb’s hamstrings. When activated, the muscle rotates the thigh at the knee joint, medially rotates the thigh, and extends the leg. The semimembranosus is named for its long, flat proximal tendon. This muscle is found in the medial compartment of the popliteal fossa.

tibialis anterior

The tibialis anterior is a fusiform muscle in the anterior compartment of the leg. It acts as the primary dorsiflexor of the foot during the first phase of gait. It also inverses the foot’s motion at the subtalar joint. It plays important roles in walking and running. It can be difficult to perform a variety of complex gait-related movements when it is not functioning properly.

iliotibial (IT) tract

The iliotibial tract is a long, fibrous band that spans the lower extremity and inserts on the Gerdy’s tubercle. This band provides the muscle groups that control knee flexion, lateral rotation, and pelvic stability. The IT band is one of several tendons that stabilize the leg. The thigh and leg muscles that control it are known collectively as the quadriceps.

Vastus intermedius

The quadriceps muscle group, which includes the Vastus medialis, is one of the most important extensors of the knee joint. It is also one of the most important muscles for stepping, climbing stairs, and squatting. Its primary function is to prevent the synovial membrane from becoming trapped and interfering with normal knee movement. The Vastus medialis and vastus lateralis muscles are often found together.

fibularis tertius

The fibularis tertius muscle is a small muscle located on the front of the lower leg. Trigger points in this muscle cause lateral pain in the ankle and heel. This article reviews the anatomy of the fibularis tertius muscle and discusses trigger points that can develop. A trigger point can occur in this muscle due to multiple factors including a strained or overused muscle, a poor balance, and improper gait.

Love it? Why not sharing?