The Anatomy of Muscles in the Body

muscles in the body

Muscles are an integral part of our bodies. They control the body’s daily functions, help us maintain our posture, circulate blood and other substances throughout our bodies, and produce subtle movements. The muscular system is comprised of three basic types. Let’s look at their functions and classification. There are also three basic anatomical regions. Each type is responsible for a particular function. Depending on the type, we may see different types of muscle.


The anatomy of muscles in the body includes their names and their movement. They are named according to their relative size, shape, and attachment to bone and connective tissue structures. Each muscle attaches to a bone at two points: the origin and insertion. When muscles contract, the insertion moves toward the origin. This movement is known as the action of a muscle. To learn more about the anatomy of muscles in the body, continue reading this article.


Muscles are important for movement is an essential function of the human body. Skeletal muscles support the body’s bones and control voluntary movement, but cardiac muscles also contribute to energy metabolism and storage. Cardiac muscles propel blood, leading to proper oxygenation of body cells. Smooth muscle is found throughout the body, including the heart. Its function is to contract and shorten contents to propel them across the lumen of multiple organ systems.


The human body contains five to six kilograms of muscle protein. These proteins are categorized according to the function of each type. Skeletal muscle contains multiple nuclei located on the periphery of the cell and is striated, with alternating light and dark bands. Cardiac muscle is made up of nonbranched cells with one or more nuclei, which are not as branched. Unlike skeletal muscle, cardiac muscle also contains intercalated discs.

Anatomical region

The human body is divided into regions called anatomical regions. These regions are identified by specific landmarks and visible structures. The parts are grouped together to perform specific functions. These landmarks are commonly called anatomical regions. Anatomical regions include the thorax, abdominal wall, pelvis, and head. There are also appendages. Among these, the muscles of the abdomen are classified as anatomical regions.

Number of skeletal muscles

The human body is composed of more than 600 named skeletal muscles. Of these, about 700 are active and are important for bodily movement. The muscles are categorized based on their size, shape, and location on the body. They are also named after the action they perform. One of the skeletal muscles is the biceps, which controls movement of the eye. Another muscle is the quadriceps, which controls movement of the leg.

Love it? Why not sharing?